"The stock markets only know one direction: up!". When you hear this sentence, you should be careful. Quickly forgotten are the times of the fall of Lehman Bank, when the Nikkei crashed and Wall Street was on the cliff.

It's not just when the economy weakens that an industry flourishes: That of the crash prophets. Authors like Marc Friedrich and Markus Krall are read millions of times. Titles such as "The Biggest Crash of All Time", "World System Crash", "The Draghi Crash" or "The Crash Is Here" regularly appear at the top of order lists.

Anyone who has experienced market sentiment swinging back and forth between "risk-on" and "risk-off" on a daily basis is justifiably unsettled. There are daily headline risks, geopolitical risks, and economic risks, not to mention the ongoing political rumor mill. This news can weigh on an investor's and investor's emotions and lead to selling too soon or rushing in. Institutional investors counter this. They work with risk-on and risk-off indicators. But what exactly do "risk-on" and "risk-off" mean?

When investor sentiment is optimistic about the economy, financial markets and industry, riskier assets tend to become more expensive. This is known as "risk-on." Conversely, when uncertainty or negativity hits the market, investors tend to sell these riskier assets and buy "safer" assets, i.e. those that are generally less vulnerable to a weakening outlook or negative investor confidence. This is "risk-off".

To better assess daily sentiment and trade more thoughtfully, TRADEofficer has released the Crash Indicator or Risk Indicator. The risk indicator gives a daily percentage on or off signal.

The Risk-On / Risk-Off indicator supports the evaluation of the current situation of the stock market. It can be used as a filter or for position size control. A risk-on/off (overall indicator) is formed from a selection of indicators. The calculation of the risk-on/risk-off indicator includes individual factors: Market breadth, factor indices, correlations and volatilities. While the informative value of the individual indicators is limited on its own, the informative value increases significantly if several of the indicators are taken into account at the same time.

Risk indicator ON:

Sentiment for the stock market is positive. There is a strong or very strong probability of rising prices. This means that you should plan purchases or hold existing positions today.

Risk indicator OFF

Sentiment for the stock market is negative. There is a very strong or strong probability of falling prices. This means that you should plan to sell or reduce risk today.

„Die Aktienmärkte kennen nur eine Richtung: Nach oben!“. Wenn Sie diesen Satz hören, sollten Sie vorsichtig sein. Schnell vergessen sind die Zeiten des Falls der Lehman-Bank, als der Nikkei abstürzte und die Wall Street an der Klippe stand.

Nicht nur wenn die Konjunktur schwächelt, blüht eine Branche auf: Die der Crash-Propheten. Autoren wie Marc Friedrich und Markus Krall werden millionenfach gelesen. Titel wie “Der größte Crash aller Zeiten”, “Weltsystemcrash”, “Der Draghi-Crash” oder “Der Crash ist da” tauchen  regelmäßig ganz oben auf den Bestellerlisten auf.

Wer schon einmal erlebt hat, dass die Marktstimmung täglich zwischen “Risk-On” und “Risk-Off” hin und her schwankt ist zu Recht verunsichert. Es gibt täglich Schlagzeilenrisiken, geopolitische Risiken und wirtschaftliche Risiken, ganz zu schweigen von der anhaltenden politischen Gerüchteküche. Diese Nachrichten können die Emotionen eines Investors und Anlegers belasten und dazu führen zu früh zu verkaufen oder hastig einzusteigen. Institutionelle Anleger wirken dem entgegen. Sie arbeiten mit Risk-On und Risk-Off-Indikatoren. Aber was genau bedeuten “Risk-On” und “Risk-Off”?

Wenn die Stimmung der Anleger hinsichtlich der Wirtschaft, der Finanzmärkte und der Industrie optimistisch ist, werden risikoreichere Anlagen tendenziell teurer. Das ist als “Risk-On” bekannt. Umgekehrt neigen Anleger, wenn Unsicherheit oder Negativität auf den Markt trifft, dazu, diese risikoreicheren Anlagen zu verkaufen und “sicherere” Anlagen zu kaufen, d.h. solche, die in der Regel weniger anfällig für eine Abschwächung der Aussichten oder ein negatives Anlegervertrauen sind. Dies ist “Risiko-Off”.

Um die tägliche Stimmung besser beurteilen zu können und überlegter zu handeln, hat TRADEofficer den Crashindikator oder Risikoindikator herausgebracht. Der Risk-Indikator gibt täglich prozentual ein On-oder Off-Signal.

Der Risk-On / Risk-Off Indikator unterstützt bei der Bewertung der aktuellen Situation des Aktienmarktes. Er kann als Filter oder zur Positionsgrößensteuerung eingesetzt werden. Aus einer Selektion an Indikatoren wird ein Risk-on/off – (Gesamtindikator) gebildet. In die Berechnung des Risk-On / Risk-Off Indikators fließen unteranderem Einzelfaktoren ein: Marktbreite, Faktorindices, Korrelationen und Volatilitäten. Während die Aussagekraft der einzelnen Indikatoren für sich genommen begrenzt ist, erhöht sich die Aussagekraft deutlich, wenn gleich mehrere der Indikatoren berücksichtigt werden

Risikoindikator ON:

Das Sentiment für den Aktienmarkt ist positiv. Es besteht eine starke oder sehr starke Wahrscheinlichkeit von steigenden Kursen. Dies bedeutet, dass Sie heute Käufe planen oder bestehende Positionen halten sollten.

Risikoindikator OFF

Das Sentiment für den Aktienmarkt ist negativ. Es besteht sehr starke oder starke Wahrscheinlichkeit von fallenden Kursen. Dies bedeutet, dass Sie heute Verkäufe planen oder Risiken reduzieren sollten.